Explore Career Options, Jobs, Schooling, and Salary for an in Demand Career in Physical Therapy
_PTA1.jpg

Overview of Physical Therapy Assistant Schools in Ohio


physical therapy assistant schools in OhioIn 2011 there are currently 18 physical therapy assistant schools in Ohio which offer accreditation from The Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education or the short CAPTE. 18 represents a large number of schools in Ohio for a prospective physical therapist assistant to choose from. Ohio currently has a population of just under 13 million. There are an estimated 4800 physical therapy assistants working in the state of Ohio whom have received training through accredited physical therapy schools. 4800 means Ohio State is the largest employer of qualified physical therapy assistants compared to all other states, you can see that this form of medical assisting is a utilized form of therapy assistance.

In all states a physical therapy assistant must possess a license to work in that given state. In Ohio program directors at the accredited colleges are generally licensed physical therapists, so the 2 year associate degree received from CAPTE physical therapy assistant colleges in Ohio is excellent. All programs will contain an on the job clinical placement working under the guidance of a physical therapist. This prepares the student for working directly with patients upon graduation. Also this helps to prepare the student for the Ohio Physical Therapy Board Licensure exam.

With regards to tuition, students can expect to pay anywhere from $8000 to $13000 on average for the entire program at physical therapy assistant schools in Ohio. This is within a simlar range to most medical assistant associate degree or diploma programs. Below is an up to date list of CAPTE accredited physical therapy assistant schools in the state of Ohio.

CAPTE Physical Therapy Assistant Schools in Ohio Directory

 

Clark State Community College

City: Springfield, OH
Phone: (937) 328-6058
Web Address: http://www.clarkstate.edu
Program E-mail: dinsmoret@clarkstate.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Terri Dinsmore, PT, MHS
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

Cuyahoga Community College

City: Cleveland, OH
Phone: (216) 987-4502
Web Address: http://www.tri-c.edu/programs/healthcareers/physicaltherapist/
Program E-mail: toby.sternheimer@tri-c.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Toby Sternheimer, PT, MEd
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

Edison Community College

City: Piqua, OH
Phone: (937) 381-1517
Program E-mail: cgohrband@edisonohio.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Catherine L Gohrband, PT, MHS, PCS
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate Applied in Science

Hocking College

City: Nelsonville, OH
Phone: (740) 753-3591
Web Address: http://www.hocking.edu/health_and_nursing/physical_therapist_assistant.htm
Program E-mail: kropf_k@hocking.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Katherine Kropf, PT, MEd
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

James A Rhodes State College

City: Lima, OH
Phone:(419) 995-8813
Web Address:http://www.rhodesstate.edu
Program E-mail: heaton.a@rhodesstate.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Angela M Heaton, PT, MSEd
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

Kent State University – Ashtabula

City: Ashtabula, OH
Phone:(440) 964-4252
Web Address:http://www.ashtabula.kent.edu/ptat/ptat.htm
Program E-mail:rblake1@kent.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: R M Blake, PT, MS
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

Kent State University – East Liverpool

City: East Liverpool, OH
Phone: (330) 382-7448
Web Address: http://www.eliv.kent.edu
Program E-mail: mfedor2@kent.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Mary L Fedor, PT, DPT
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

Lorain County Community College

City: Elyria, OH
Phone: (800) 995-5222 ext. 7881
Web Address: http://www.lorainccc.edu/
Program E-mail: jmyers@lorainccc.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: John T Myers, PT, DPT, MBA
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

Marion Technical College

City: Marion, OH
Phone: (740) 389-4636
Web Address: http://www.mtc.edu/Health/PTA.html
Program E-mail: cottermans@mtc.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Susan P Cotterman, PT, MBA
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

North Central State College

City: Mansfield, OH
Phone: (888) 755-4899
Web Address: http://www.ncstatecollege.edu/academics/healthps/pta/physther.html
Program E-mail: cwolfe@ncstatecollege.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Carol C Wolfe, PT, MAEd
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

Owens Community College

City: Toledo, OH
Phone: (567) 661-7084
Web Address: http://www.owens.edu/academic_dept/health_tech/pta/index.html
Program E-mail: cynthia_doyle@owens.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Cynthia Doyle, PT, DPT
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

Professional Skills Institute

City: Toledo, OH
Phone: (419) 531-9610
Web Address: http://www.proskills.com
Program E-mail: dlamb@proskills.com
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Deanna Lamb, PT, MA
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

Shawnee State University

City: Portsmouth, OH
Phone:(740) 351-3225
Web Address: http://www.shawnee.edu/academics/hsc/pta/index.html
Program E-mail: nevans@shawnee.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Neil Evans, DPT
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

Sinclair Community College

City: Dayton, OH
Phone: (937) 512-2969
Web Address: http://www.sinclair.edu/academics/alh/programs/
Program E-mail: colleen.whittington@sinclair.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Colleen Whittington, PT, MHS
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

Stark State College of Technology

City: Canton, OH
Phone: (330) 966-5458
Web Address: http://www.starkstate.edu/ACADEMICS/health/ptassttech.htm
Program E-mail: wlinville@starkstate.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Wallace H Linville, PT, MA
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

University of Cincinnati Clermont College

City: Batavia, OH
Phone: (513) 558-5340
Program E-mail: coppolsm@ucmail.uc.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Sam Coppoletti, PT, DPT
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

Washington State Community College

City: Marietta, OH
Phone: (740) 374-8716 ext. 1692
Web Address: http://www.wscc.edu/academics/health/physicaltherapistassistant.asp
Program E-mail: ksalyers@wscc.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Kimberly D Salyers, PTA, MAEd
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science

Zane State College

City: Zanesville, OH
Phone: (800) 686-8324
Web Address: http://www.zanestate.edu/PTA/default.htm
Program E-mail: lwahl@zanestate.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Lori Wahl, PT, DPT
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Applied Science