Explore Career Options, Jobs, Schooling, and Salary for an in Demand Career in Physical Therapy
_PTA1.jpg

Choosing From Physical Therapy Assistant Schools in Texas


physical therapy assistant schools in TexasPhysical therapy assistant schools in Texas are plentiful, as well as being distributed throughout Texas with 19 CAPTE accredited college and university programs throughout the state. Physical therapy assistants are in high demand in the majority of the states and Texas is no different. The skills of a physical therapist is required in outpatient clinics, nursing homes, hospitals, home health care centers, rehabilitation centers, sports centers and within school systems. Texas also happens to be the highest paying state for physical therapist assistants with some individuals earning over $80 000 a year for this profession within the state. This is a very high paying salary for a medical assistant career.

Once a physical therapy assistant has graduated from the program with an associate degree or diploma they then have to go onto passing the Texas State Board of Physical Therapy Examiner’s licensing exams. Once this exam is passed they can work in any location they would like in the state from Dallas to El Paso. Texas demographically is the 2nd largest state population wise in the USA with a population of just under 26 million as of 2011. The amount of physical therapy assistant schools in Texas reflects the great demand for this profession in the state of Texas.

With regards to tuition and total expenses of the program, students can expected to pay anywhere from around $9000 to $13 000 for the entire program. Costs such as books, uniform and clinicall placement fees are added on to the school tuition to get this figure. Below we have listed the 19 Commission on Accreditation on Physical Therapy Education or CAPTE accredited physical therapy assistant schools in Texas. The CAPTE accreditation is the stamp you are looking for with physical therapy assistant schools in Texas, as this offers the greatest educational standards, as well as the ability to write the license exam in any state you wish to work in.

Physical Therapy Assistant Schools in Texas Directory

 

Amarillo College

City: Amarillo, TX
Phone: (806) 354-6043
Web Address: http://www.actx.edu/~phys_therapy/-12k
Program E-mail: kjjones@actx.edu
Program Director: Kelly J Jones, MPT
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

Austin Community College

City: Austin, TX
Phone:(512) 223-5938
Web Address: http://www.austincc.edu/health/ptha
Program E-mail: jisrael@austincc.edu
Program Director: Jana Israel, PT, MEd
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

Blinn College

City: Bryan, TX
Phone: (979) 209-7284
Web Address: http://www.blinn.edu/twe/pta/index.htm
Program E-mail: Christy.Gantt@blinn.edu
Program Director: Mary C Gantt, DPT, EMT
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

Community College of the Air Force

City: Fort Sam Houston, TX
Phone: (940) 676-3873
Program E-mail: romoross@msn.com
Program Director: Major Michael D Ross, PT, DHSc, OCS
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

Del Mar College

City: Corpus Christi, TX
Phone: (361) 698-2820
Web Address: http://www.delmar.edu/ptap
Program E-mail:jspigner@delmar.edu
Program Director: Janice Spigner, PT, MHS
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

El Paso Community College

City: El Paso, TX
Phone: (915) 831-4172
Web Address: http://www.epcc.edu/PTAP
Program E-mail: debrat@epcc.edu
Program Director: Debra L Tomacelli-Brock, PT, MS
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

Houston Community College System

City: Houston, TX
Phone: (713) 718-7391
Web Address: http://www.hccs.edu/
Program E-mail: jan.myers@hccs.edu
Program Director: Jan Myers, PT, MS
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

Kilgore College

City: Kilgore, TX
Phone: (903) 983-8148
Web Address: http://www.kilgore.edu/physical_therapist.asp
Program E-mail: cgleaton@kilgore.edu
Program Director: Carla Gleaton, PT, MEd
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

Laredo Community College

City: Laredo, TX
Phone: (956) 764-5724
Web Address: http://laredo.edu
Program E-mail: esmeralda.vargas@laredo.edu
Program Director: Esmeralda Vargas, PT, MS
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

Lone Star College Montgomery

City: Conroe, TX
Phone: (936) 273-7360
Web Address: http://www.montgomery.lonestar.edu/
Program E-mail: Renee.M.Pruitt@lonestar.edu
Program Director: Renee M Pruitt, PT, MHA, DPT
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

McLennan Community College

City: Waco, TX
Phone: (254) 299-8715
Web Address: http://www.mclennan.edu/departments/hsp/pta/
Program E-mail: hmattingly@mclennan.edu
Program Director: Heather Mattingly, PT, MSPT
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

Northeast Texas Community College

City: Mount Pleasant, TX
Phone: (903) 434-8358
Program E-mail: nwilson@ntcc.edu
Program Director: Nancy R Wilson, PT
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

Odessa College

City: Odessa, TX
Phone: (432) 335-6842
Web Address: http://www.odessa.edu/dept/pta
Program E-mail: lmckelvey@odessa.edu
Program Director: Lynn McKelvey, PT, MS
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

San Jacinto College South

City: Houston, TX
Phone: (281) 922-3476
Web Address: http://www.sjcd.edu/physicaltherapy
Program E-mail: patricia.corley@sjcd.edu
Program Director: Patricia Corley, PT, DPT
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

South Texas College

City: McAllen, TX 78502-9701
Phone: (956) 683-3152
Web Address: http://www.southtexascollege.edu/nah/
Program E-mail: dianah@southtexascollege.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Diana E Hernandez, PT, MEd
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

St. Philip´s College

City: San Antonio, TX
Phone: (210) 486-2051
Web Address: http://www.accd.edu/spc/acad/ahd/pta/ptaprogram.aspx
Program E-mail: dstetz@alamo.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Donna Stetz, PT, MS
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

Tarrant County College

City: Hurst, TX
Phone:(817) 515-6555
Web Address: http://www.tccd.edu/pta
Program E-mail: jill.pool@tccd.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Jill Pool, PTA, MEd
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

Western Technical College

City: El Paso, TX
Phone: (915) 231-4936
Program E-mail: rflores@westerntech.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Richard Flores, MPT, BS
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science

Wharton County Junior College

City: Wharton, TX
Phone: (979) 532-6491
Web Address: http://www.wcjc.edu/ed_programs_n/allied_health/physical_therapist_assistant/default.asp
Program E-mail: bettys@wcjc.edu
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Betty Salas, PT
Accreditation: CAPTE
Degree: Associate in Science